Matrix apps do not send messages / Matrix mail registration

I am totally new with FreedomBox. Because of Matrix I started with FreedomBox and I am really impressed how everything works. I used and old mITX computer and I must say it is running fine but there are some problems and I need some help from experts.

I was not happy with the performance so I flashed the image to a Samsung 500G SSD and it is running in a little computer with the following specs:

Intel Corporation D425KT
2x Intel(R) Atom™ CPU D425 @ 1.80GHz
Geheugen: DDR3 / 4 GiB

I started an account on matrix.org but sending messages from the little homeserver is failing.

Something I really would like to activate is the possibility to get the server accepting an e-mailadres while setting up a new account. The configuration file what probably needs an adjustment I did not find yet.

I know how to work in terminal but have to get used to the nano editor.

I hope someone can give me some advice.

Thanks in advance for any advice,
Bert

Hello @eca56,

I noticed your message in the Matrix/IRC room but didn’t have a chance to respond until now. It’s great that you’ve also posted here for more visibility.

After revisiting your post, I find myself needing a bit more clarity on a couple of points to provide the best advice.

It sounds like there might be some confusion regarding where your Matrix account is hosted. If the account was created on matrix.org, it wouldn’t be hosted on your FreedomBox’s Matrix Synapse server. For integrating Matrix Synapse on your FreedomBox, have you consulted the Matrix Synapse section in the FreedomBox manual?

The manual indicates that creating a user on your FreedomBox automatically grants them a Matrix ID on your self-hosted Matrix Synapse server, as detailed here:

All the registered users of your FreedomBox will have their Matrix IDs as @username:domain. Public registration, if enabled, allows new users to register an account using their preferred client.