Could Someone Give me Guidance on Setting Up a Secure FreedomBox Server for Home Use?

Hello there,

I am excited to join this forum and explore the world of decentralized and self-hosted solutions. I have recently decided to set up a FreedomBox server at home to enhance my digital privacy and control over my data. Although; as a newcomer to this technology; I could use some guidance and advice from the experienced members here.

I have a Raspberry Pi 4 with 4GB RAM and a 128GB microSD card. I also have a reliable internet connection with a static IP.
I plan to install the latest stable release of FreedomBox.

I want to ensure that my personal data is secure and accessible only to me.
I intend to use FreedomBox for hosting my own email server, file storage (Nextcloud), and possibly a VPN.
Since I am relatively new to self-hosting, I am looking for a setup that’s user-friendly and manageable.

What are the best practices for setting up FreedomBox on a Raspberry Pi 4? Are there any specific configurations or steps I should follow to optimize performance and security? :thinking:

Can anyone recommend a comprehensive guide or resources for setting up a secure and reliable email server on FreedomBox? What are the common pitfalls to avoid? :thinking:

How well does Nextcloud integrate with FreedomBox, and what are the recommended settings for a seamless experience?

Also, I have gone through this post: https://discuss.freedombox.org/t/how-best-to-configuring-home-network-for-freedombox-and-maintain-maximum-security-power-bi/ which definitely helped me out a lot.

What are the best VPN options to use with FreedomBox, and how can I ensure that my internet traffic is secure and private?

Thank you in advance for your help and assistance. :innocent:

Welcome!

Here is some advice based on your use case.