Best way to put FreedomBox on RBPi 4 2gb

So I’ve been running a Raspberry pi 2 with FreedomBox for a little over two months now. I am very new to Linux in general (I just found out how to cd in the terminal, its not my fault it doesn’t start at a drive letter :smile: ). For some background, I have three years of java under my belt, i’m not new to the tech scene. However, I almost can’t survive without a UI and, the only way I knew how to install FreedomBox on my RBPi 2 is flashing the image y’all provide on the download page. I now have a RBPi 4 that I want to have FreedomBox on it too. Is there an easy fool proof way (literary one or two commands and, step by step) to install FreedomBox on my RBPi 4? Will there be an image that I can download in the future? I’ve gone as far as blindly shooting in the dark and putting a RBPi 2 image (testing) on my RBPi 4. Alas, no dice (not showing up on my router via network scan).

Unfortunately, I don’t have an micro HDMI to connect to a display. I can’t see the startup text (or even if there is any).

My RBPi 4 has the offical power supply connected. The red power indicator is on. Both network activity indicator lights are on. The RBPi 2 has been renamed from freedombox to RBPi2 in settings to avoid any problems (if there would be if there where two "freedombox"es on the network).

I am fairly confident the reason why the RBPi 4 is not showing up on the router is because i’m using a RBPi 2 image :neutral_face:. It was worth a shot though.

:slight_smile: I understand. We are hoping that as FreedomBox gets better you won’t have to deal with command line at all.

Any feeback on how this went?

Yes, this is likely. I don’t think Raspberry Pi 4 provides compatibility for Raspberry Pi 2/3B/3B+ images as is. We are looking to provide a separate image for Raspberry Pi 4 in the future. However, support Pi 4 is slow coming in the Linux kernel and eventually to Debian. I could be a while before we have the images ready.