Setup Pioneer Freedombox as WLAN Access Point

Hi
First I want to thank all of you, who are making it possible, to have such an incredible piece of technique (both, hard- and software)! Very cool project!

I am new to Linux and Freedombox and did try to setup WLAN on my Freedombox with the latest hard- and software. I bought the MOD-WIFI-AR9271 USB WiFi adapter together with the Pioneer FreedomBox. My understanding of the terminal and its commands are not enough to set it up. Can anybody give detailed instruction, how to install the WIFI adapter and configure the software? All the posts I did read didn’t help so far.

Thank you!

David

Hi @David

Is the issue in getting the network card operational or getting FreedomBox doing what you need with the network card?

Maybe start here if you are getting the network card set up: 8.2. Configuring the Network and look at 8.2.2. Wireless Interface.

I believe what you’re asking for is well supported in the FreedomBox GUI. Look in System and then Networks. First answer the questions about internet connectivity and internet connection type. Then, what you describe sounds like this to me:

• Pioneer wired ethernet is your primary network interface connected to the ISP with firewall zone “external”
  • WLAN interface is your secondary network interface in “shared connection” mode with firewall zone internal

In this configuration your FreedomBox will be the DHCP server, will forward DNS requests, and be the router for your network. This is the way I’m using FreedomBox and it works very well for this.

Here’s the Networks documentation from the online FreedomBox manual.

Hi @Joseph
Thank you for your kind an professional answer! The issue was to get the network card operational. My misconception was, that I thought I had to install and configure the software in the terminal. The documentation says:
22.1. Firmware Installation