First Setup - doubts about connection

Hello, I am new to freedombox, tried installing on a rpi4, but I am confused about he connection aspect, is there a way to avoid opening ports on the router and these kind of things that I don’t have full knowledge about?
Can it be solved with the use or VPN, privoxy or something similar?

Hello Marco,

Without doing anything on your routeur, you could:

• access any service from your local network
  • access some services externally using Tor

The manual says the following services can be accessed using Tor (but the list is not exhaustive):

• Calendar and Addressbook (Radicale)
  • File Synchronization (Syncthing)
  • Feed reader (TinyTinyRSS)
  • Web Search (Searx)
  • Wiki (MediaWiki)
  • Wiki and Blog (Ikiwiki)

To use Tor, you need to activate it on the Freedombox and have a Tor client on the computer/mobile phone that you are using. Access via Tor is generally slow but it is ok for a number of use cases.

An advantage of using Tor is you need nothing else to access your Freedombox externally, i.e. your Freedombox is accessible with a Tor host name (impossible to remember but you can bookmark it).

Otherwise, supposing your network uses IPv4 (I have nearly zero experience with IPv6), you need to:

1. configure your routeur so that it fowards to your Freedombox any external request to the port(s) used by the services that you want to access from outside your local network (this is called NAT for Network Address Translation); AND
  2. if your routeur has a fixed public IPv4 address, you could simply use it, if not or it you would prefer to use a name one can remember easily, you need some name service (usually DNS) to translate that name to your routeur public IPv4 address