Domain name setting

Hello,

I am a newbie. I got a freedombox one mounth or so ago.
Then I read that for certain services I needed a domain name properly set.
Then I read about domain names on posts explaining that one shouldn’t use “.local”.
From those posts I inferred that the only ways to do things correctly was to buy or rather rent a domain name. So I went to infomaniak and rented one for 10 years.
let’s call it “luz.es” (it’s not).

Then I tried to set the domain name of my freedom box to let’s say “paz.luz.es” intending it to be a subdomain reachable from outside.

Then I am stuck.

Proposed way to declare de domain name by freedombox is to register an account here

There are only two options there “sds-ip.de” or “freedombox.rocks”

How can I do for my domain name to something other than *.freedombox.rocks *.sds-ip.de ?

How can I set subdomains ?

How can I have a local domain name for my freedom box and a different global one ?

Those questions probably sound trivial yet I can’t manage to find my way there.

Thanks for any clue or elementary links,

Best regards,

Hetgyl

Hi, I’m afraid I don’t have the whole solution, but here’s what I can help with.

Do you have a static IP address for your FreedomBox ?
If yes, you don’t need GnuDIP. You need to use the means provided by your registrar to associate your domain name with your IP address. Maybe they have a Web interface for this setting ? I’m no expert, but I think this should be enough to access the server (given other things like NAT and firewalls have been dealt with).

If your IP address is dynamic, then you need a Dynamic DNS provider. gnudip.datasystems24.net has this help page : https://gnudip.datasystems24.net/gnudip/html/owndomain.html (disclaimer : I have no idea if this is adapted to Freedombox, since these are general instructions).

Good luck and best regards,
Altadil

You have to set your domain name under System -> Configure -> Domain Name